No one logged in.

C-PORT Seeks Nominations for Prestigious Awards

C-PORT Seeks Nominations for Prestigious Awards

C-PORT, Conference of Professional Operators for Response Towing, is seeking nominations for a number of prestigious awards to be presented at the 30th Anniversary C-PORT Conference and Membership Meeting being held on November 13-14, 2016.  Nominations must be received no later than September 30, 2016 to allow sufficient time for consideration.

AFRAS Lifesaving Award - C-PORT is pleased to announce that AFRAS (Association for Rescue at Sea) will continue its program to annually recognize a deserving member of C-PORT for their rescue efforts.  The Association for Rescue at Sea (AFRAS) was formed in 1976 to foster traditional maritime search and rescue values through suitable recognition of deserving personnel, and to facilitate cooperation in search and rescue.  The Award will be conferred on a C-PORT member individual or group of individuals who perform exceptional acts in attempting to save life in the maritime environment. Instances where the rescuer places their own life at risk will be given highest consideration. The Award may be given posthumously.   

Nominations are to include a full description of the circumstances and events giving rise to the nomination and include such factors as:

Location of the incident
Prevailing weather conditions
Skill displayed
Determination to conduct the rescue operation
Exceptional courage demonstrated
Degree of risk involved

C-PORT Distinguished Service and Meritorious Service Awards- These awards honor C-PORT members who demonstrate the professional standards that our association promotes. These marine assistance professionals go above and beyond their dedication to providing service to the boating public through extraordinary and exemplary actions.  Nominations are to include a full description of the circumstances and events giving rise to the nomination.

C-PORT Compass Rose Award - This award is presented to someone who is dedicated to making the marine assistance industry better through their hard work and desire to make boating an enjoyable experience for everyone.  The recipient is a leader with true direction, high personal standards and will go above and beyond in any situation.  

C-PORT Advocacy Award- Recognizes a deserving C-PORT member for their service to the association and to the marine assistance industry through advocacy and leadership. This award will be presented to the C-PORT member who demonstrates political involvement by actively promoting C-PORT to their Congressional leaders, to State and Local public agencies, and to the maritime industry.  Nominees understand this is industry support rather than individual business elevation.

Nominations for all awards may be emailed to or mailed directly to the C-PORT office at 3640-B3 North Federal Hwy #136, Lighthouse Point, FL 33064.  

C-PORT was founded in 1986 to act as a liaison between the marine assistance industry and public agencies and organizations involved with boating safety, marine assistance, marine salvage and other marine-related operations.  Our members are dedicated to providing prompt, professional and timely assistance to all boaters and to actively partner and cooperate with local law enforcement and U.S. Coast Guard. They are professionals, dedicated to the growth and development of their respective businesses and committed to furthering the advancement of our waterways and the boating community.  For more information, contact C-PORT at (954) 261-2012 or visit 


No comments yet